Excitement in the air

If we had a theme song or movie title for 2017 thus far, it would be named, ‘BUSY AND EXPENSIVE’, and sadly I don’t see that changing anytime soon [especially once this baby arrives in September]!

There are so many exciting things coming up that we’ve been looking forward to, but I fear getting there will be half the battle. We fly home in exactly one month and between now and then this is my to-do list which seems to grow by the minute.

Dentist appointment

Routine prenatal appointment

Fetal Diagnostics appointment

Get the car serviced

Final fitting/pick up my bridesmaids dress

Final fitting/pick up Willie’s suits

Finalize my Matron of Honor speech

Book our return flight

Pack

Somedays I don’t know whether to laugh or cry… So I end up doing both.

Alright, enough complaining… We are all busy to an extent, I guess it just seems like so much more now that I’m pregnant, hormonal, hungry, and exhausted 24/7. LORD GIVE ME STRENGTH!

Our trip home will be spread over a 3 week span, which may seem like a long time, but we already have SO much planned… 13 hour flight, 2 layovers, Alabama for a few days, Greenville, NC for a few days, my hair appointment, Willie’s tattoo appointment, our gender reveal party, rehearsal dinner, my sister’s wedding, Boone, NC for a few days, Willie’s brother’s birthday, our nephew’s school play, a photoshoot, back to Greenville for a day or two, then a 13 hour flight back to Hawaii…

So much for a calm, serene, relaxing vacation getaway… [I’m still counting on booking a ‘baby moon’ trip, so I really hope it works out] but on a serious note, although VERY busy, I wouldn’t trade our time home for anything! I haven’t been home in about a year, and Willie hasn’t been home in 2 years, so just being able to see, hug, kiss, and love on our family and friends makes all the running around worth it! There isn’t a day that goes by that we don’t miss and think of them and in one month we won’t have to for a whole 3 weeks!

Now that I just gave y’all a little sneak preview of our agenda while we’re home, be sure to stay tuned for some new and exciting blog posts coming in May [wedding, gender reveal, birthday, photoshoot, and LOTS of sweet family time]!

PREGNANCY UPDATE:

17265165_645995028938926_6389836622207563111_n

As of today, I am 14 weeks and 3 days [in my second trimester, woohoo]!

We took the Harmony Test at our last appointment. For those of you who are not familiar with the test, it’s an extensive, very accurate blood test that can be done as early as 10 weeks. It looks at the baby’s DNA and chromosomes and is looking for [trisomy 21 – Down Syndrome, trisomy 18, and trisomy 13]. It is also an early gender test too since it looks at the baby’s chromosomes.

17103822_642299759308453_8188731251408247542_n

From what I understand, a lot of insurances do not cover it because it is not ‘medically necessary’, which is why a lot of people haven’t heard of it. Since the out of pocket is so expensive, many people choose not to have it done, however our insurance just so happened to cover it so we were like “why not?“…

17155313_642299789308450_6105620176222084326_n

If you look close enough in this picture, I’ve still got my bandage around my arm from where they drew blood hours earlier. I was terrified to take it off in fear that it would gush blood. I was wrong per the usual.

Some people still opt out of the Harmony Test because they don’t want to know in advance if their baby will have any chromosomal defects like Down Syndrome, but we saw it more like if our child were to have any of these, we wouldn’t love it any less – we would just have more time to physically and emotionally prepare as well as find helpful information and resources about it… We understood going into it, that it’s not for everyone, and I totally understand and respect both sides – but man, isn’t science is amazing?!

17103441_642299765975119_6108920529677715273_n

So long story short we did it! Our doctor called us back the following week and said everything looked great! Baby is healthy and has a very low risk for any chromosomal abnormalities, which is always a blessing to hear. Since my sister is planning our gender reveal party, she’s the only one that gets to know the gender – so we are patiently and excitingly waiting for April 27th!!!

17453256_649486968589732_1418845816_o

This me regular, no pushing out… I promise!

Bump: Good news! I think I will be “popping” soon – FINALLY! Although there is no drastic sign of a bump just yet, I feel it coming… It’s definitely something I’ve been waiting and looking forward to… It’s not that I don’t feel pregnant [trust me my off and on nausea hasn’t let me forget] but I think waking up and actually being able to see a bump in the mirror will make it feel all the more surreal and even more connected to this little babe inside my tummy.

Cravings: It changes from hour to hour, but my go-to’s that I seem to ALWAYS want are Strawberry and banana greek yogurt, Cuties (the mini oranges), Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked, Air Heads, Fruit rollups, and Sour Power Straws [no joke, the other day I went on Amazon Prime and almost ordered a 200 count of Strawberry Sour Power Straws for $20]… It’s a good thing I didn’t order it because the next day a sweet friend sent me this care package [it was kind of weird, because I felt like she read my mind].

17264172_646928132178949_2891260926266601134_n

PSA: If anyone would like to send me any sweet treats, I am gladly accepting anything sweet, sugary, chewy, or gummy.

Dislikes: Although I am eating more meat these days, I’m still not a huge fan and the smell of poke’, asian food, and soy sauce is enough to make me gag. Speaking of gagging, brushing my teeth/tongue has become a lot more interesting/humorous [definitely have to be more cautious – that toothbrush will get ya]!

Melts my heart: It melts my heart every time Willie and I talk about our baby [which is a lot]. We will sit up some nights just talking, dreaming and wondering what our kid will look like, what kind of parents we will be, what sports they will try, what their personality will be like… We still have a ways to go until September, but sometimes it’s just fun to try and guess…

Most excited for: This one is a no brainer! We are definitely most excited about our GENDER REVEAL PARTY when we go home! I’m literally counting down the days until APRIL 27th!

Not looking forward to: Buying tons of diapers and wipes over the next 2 years! Now that we are in the second trimester, I think we are going to try to gradually stock up – that way by the time the baby comes in September we will already have a small stock pile of various sizes so it won’t seem so overwhelming all at once. I’ve read up on the recommended amounts of diapers to pre-purchase so we don’t waste money on sizes that our baby will outgrow in a matter of a week or two, so fingers crossed this pays off [I’m such a planner – type A by nature I guess].

Exercise: My energy is up for the most part, but I still have days where I’m completely exhausted. I’m slowly starting to get back in the groove of things in the gym and my workouts have increased to about 3-4 times a week versus the 1-2 times a week in the first trimester. I’m mostly doing body weight resistance exercises, but I’m still doing some light weights. I’m really trying to keep my flexibility during pregnancy, so I’m still stretching as much as I can while my bump isn’t getting in the way [I’m sure I will have to get much more creative as I keep growing].

Predictions: Still the same… My gut keeps telling me girl and Willie keeps insisting boy… ONE MORE MONTH and we shall see!

How am I feeling: More good days than bad, so I guess that’s a positive. I still get nauseous from time to time, but it has definitely gotten 100x better than weeks 7-10 [those 3 weeks were hell]. Like I said above, I am feeling more of my energy returning so that’s definitely helped me feel more like a productive, contributing member of society. But with the extra energy and decreased nausea, I’ve noticed my appetite has skyrocketed the past few weeks! I’m having to eat little snacks every 1-2 hours or else I start to become hungry, moody, and nauseous [lets just say my lunchbox that I take to work with me is filled to the brim – it looks like I’m feeding my whole department].

17190941_642299775975118_61099260943350366_n

How’s hubby: He continues to be so sweet, patient, and supportive, which I am so thankful for because some days my moods and demanding requests are enough to make even the most patient person go insane. He is still very much in love with our little peanut and makes sure to kiss us both before bed and before he heads off to work. Since my energy has been up lately, I’ve been going with him to the gym a lot more which makes him happy to have his partner back [I think he really missed our gym sesh’s together during that first trimester].

As you can see, we’ve got a lot of exciting things happening in the next month and I can’t wait to share all these special moments with you all… So stay tuned – you won’t want to miss it!

Y’all are the BEST! I mean it.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

