It’s all a balancing act

In my last post, I gave you a few updates on what we’ve been up to lately.

So today I thought I would share a few more tid bits of this thing we call ‘life’ and how I’m managing to juggle my commitments!

Let’s get the boring, monotonous stuff out of the way first…

[WORK]

After 3 weeks of being immersed in overwhelming amounts of chaos and confusion, I am SO thrilled to announce that my training period is OFFICIALLY OVER [insert happy dance]! I worked my first shift BY MYSELF last week and to my surprise it went smoothly (I guess I retained more information than I thought I did). Since training is over and I can now work shifts by myself, my schedule has normalized to about 3-4 days a week versus 7-8 days straight when I was training (HALLELUJAH)! I am in no way a seasoned pro and I’m still learning new things every day, however the residents, the staff and just the overall feeling this place gives me makes every long, hard, stressful day WORTH IT!

[HEALTH/FITNESS]

Since my previous training schedule had me spread thin, I didn’t have as much free time as I normally have had in the past. As we all know, living a healthy, active lifestyle requires preparation, dedication and time (all of which were tested the past few weeks). It was quite the challenge finding time to prep meals, eat mindfully, stay hydrated and fit my workouts in, but SOMEHOW (by the grace of God) I managed. It is not easy and some nights I just want to give up and stuff my face with a large cheese pizza and dive into a bucket of ice cream, but I know what my long term goals are and I plan to see them through, no matter how long it takes.

So to all you hardworking ladies, gents, spouses, parents you CAN do it! It won’t be easy… BUT… You CAN make it! I promise!

Alright… Time to get into the fun stuff…

[HULA CLASSES]

Thursday nights are now the highlight of my week! Yesterday was my second class and I feel like I’m already learning SO much about not only the dancing aspect of hula but the culture and meaning behind the movements. For the longest time, hula dancing seemed very simple and straight forward to me (I guess because I have only ever seen it on TV or in movies). However, after my very first hula class my eyes were opened to the true artistry of this dance. You aren’t just moving your arms in a wave like motion and shaking your hips aimlessly. You’re placing your hands ever so gently, swaying your hips with the rhythm of the song, moving your feet in a number of different patterns, all while keep your face pleasant and expressive (ALL of these things happening AT ONCE).

14536830_564642413740855_817536249_o

14522187_564642417074188_1704649151_o

My class consists of about 25 of the loveliest ladies you’ll ever meet (ranging in all ages). The song we are learning/dancing to is Tell Your Heart To Beat Again by Danny Gokey (click the song title to listen). It is such a beautiful song that I feel so many people can relate to and the movements that go with it interpret the lyrics perfectly. We still have a couple more weeks of class left, but at the end of October we will be performing it in front of a church crowd, our families and friends (my work has also asked me to perform around Christmas time). No pressure right?! I’m a little nervous since I’m still a newbie to this dance and culture, but I’m so excited to learn, grow, experience and spread the love of God through dance.

If I can figure it out, I will try my best to post a video/pictures of my performances so you can be a part of it and see what skills I’ve picked up here in Hawaii.

[MY HAPPY PLACE]

Like most people who work or have crazy, busy schedules, I HAVE to get my weekly dose of zen, serenity and stress release (it’s a MUST for me to function throughout the week). Some people find this at church or at the gym. Naturally, living in Hawaii this place for me is at the beach. Sadly, my unemployed days are over and I don’t get to go every day like I used to… However when I do go, I always leave feeling relaxed, refreshed and ready to take on a new day (the 3 R’s). This past week, I think I got a little TOO excited and forgot to reapply sunscreen (I’m paying for it now – my nose is peeling).

14489706_564642423740854_1984082292_o

However you choose to live your day to day life… Remember the importance of balance – work hard and play hard. After all… We weren’t born to just pay bills and die. So get the job done, set some goals, treat yourself, find peace, be content, try something new and have fun!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

