When one door closes, another opens

IT’S FRIDAY! 

You got your kiddos back to school, made it to the weekend and to sweeten the deal even more… Pirate Football kicks off TOMORROW (which makes me miss home that much more).

That being said, I thought what better day to share good news than today, FRIDAY!

Sure, living the ‘stay-at-home’ spouse life can be fun and sounds like a dream (especially in a beautiful place like Hawaii). But for me, it’s something I never really wanted for myself (at least not until I have kids that could actually benefit from having me home). Since the age of 17, I have always had a job (6 jobs to be exact). Whether it was part-time, full-time or somewhere in between, hard work, pulling your weight and earning your keep was something that my parents instilled in me from a very young age.

As I look back at my experience entering the work force, I remember how resentful and frustrated I was that my parents were making me get a job. Yes, some of my friends worked while in high school and throughout college, but a lot of them did not which made me quick to assume that I didn’t have to either. However, when your parents feed you, put a roof over your head and pay the bills it’s hard to defend your case (I think it goes without saying… they WON every time).

When I really stop and think about it, I had it SO EASY compared to many people (they paid for my car, car insurance, phone, schooling, etc) I had no debt, thanks to them. My parents understood with it being my very first job that I wasn’t going to make much, therefore never required me to pay any bills with what little I did make. Instead, they wanted me to work so that I could gain experience, value the worth of a dollar, create a strong work ethic and have some extra spending money (for going out to eat, going to the movies or to fill up my gas tank). As a bratty, hormonal teenager, I didn’t understand their reasoning behind it at the time, but I totally get it now and I am beyond grateful for the sacrifices they made and the life lessons it taught me.

But enough about the past…

For those of you who keep up with me or follow my blog, you know that my job hunt here in Hawaii hasn’t gone quite as smooth as I would have liked. I applied and interviewed at Navy Federal Credit Union over a month ago, but didn’t exactly nail my interview and as a result was not selected for the position (see July 14th post).

I knew my interview wasn’t the best, but I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t totally bummed out when I got the news that I didn’t get the position. It’s quite discouraging and disheartening when you want something SO bad, only to be told you’re not quite good enough or you’re not exactly what they’re looking for. Sometimes it’s hard to move on after feelings of failure and inadequacy start to sink in (I know for me it was).

Well, as promised… THE GOOD NEWS

After a lot of prayer, trust and guidance, I am SO thrilled to announce that I have accepted a job as a part-time Activities Assistant at Ann Pearl Rehab and Healthcare (a senior living community here on the island). I will work within the activities department to help create, plan and take part in activities specifically designed for the residents, including holiday parties, special events and even field trips (talk about FUN).

14152230_551858198352610_931270350_o

Those of you who work in skilled nursing or have family members in this setting, know firsthand the importance of these activities in relation to ‘quality of life’. Many of these people are depressed, lonely and have some form of dementia, which makes coping with reality even more of a challenge, another reason why these games, socials, activities and outings are so crucial to this population. Not only are these daily activities meaningful and encouraging for the residents, but for the staff as well and I am SO glad that I get to be a part of it. This job is one that genuinely excites me and I feel will be so fulfilling and rewarding. It’s been my life’s mission to show people who God is, through love, laughter and compassion… So to have been given this opportunity is truly a DREAM!

I can’t wait to touch lives and love on these sweet souls every single day!

14163885_551858208352609_1819101266_o

Being imperfect humans, we often question God’s choices in our lives. We say we trust Him, but when it comes down to actually doing it we often times become weary in our faith. Sure, if God wanted to he could have easily given me that job at Navy Federal Credit Union and I would’ve been over the moon about it. However, if he did do that… I wouldn’t be here. I wouldn’t have this amazing opportunity to impact lives on a much deeper, personal, meaningful level. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this is a prime example of the GREATER plan He has for each of us, if we just trust Him.

In times like these, I am reminded of the story of Peter.

 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.” -Matthew 14: 29-33

Believe in your calling, have faith in your purpose and trust in HIS plan over your life!

If it’s not apparent by now, HE KNOWS WHAT HE’S DOING…

XOXO

4 thoughts on “When one door closes, another opens

Leave a Reply

